302 West Main Street, Clearview, OK 74880, US



Oklahoma African American Educators Hall of Fame, Inc.


Motto:  Withhold not good from them to whom it is due, when it is in the power of thine hand to do it.  Proverbs 3: 27

About Us

A Great Educator

Do you know an of educator who you admired and  influenced your life in a positive way?

What An Honor

Would you like to recognize an  educator  for the Hall of Fame?

Induction Ceremony 2019

See your favorite educator come to stage to be recognized among the ten best of 2019

Oklahoma African American Educators Hall of Fame, Inc.

 Nomination Application due date has passed.  Look for the new application in February 2020. 

Files coming soon.

E. M. “Nat” Watson Jr. Athletic Scholarship Awardees


Kalaya Lastar Nichols - Wewoka High School


Kalaya Lastar Nichols attended Wewoka High School for four years. She graduated on May 19, 2019 with a GPA of 2.91. During her high school year at Wewoka, Kalaya participate in cheerleading, band, FCCIA, Science Club, Student Council, and served as class representative for the class of 2019. Her honors included being on the Principal’s Honor Roll and the honor of working as an office aide for the middle school.   Kalaya’s plans are to attend Langston University and will receive aide from the Oklahoma Promise grant.  Kalaya resides with her grandparents James and Cathy Blackshire of Wewoka, Oklahoma. 

E. M. “Nat” Watson Jr. Athletic Scholarship


Jaxon Paul - Edison Preparatory


  • Jaxon plans are to attend college and graduate with a business degree. He wants to start his own business to help train kids to get better at whatever sport they play.  He also want his own business to sell sports items and everything sports related. because these things help will help kids succeed in sports.  This scholarship will help relieve his stress of paying for college.  Jaxon will be attending Langston University.   His parents are Tena and Marcus Paul of Tulsa. 

E. M. “Nat” Watson Jr. Athletic Scholarship

  •      This scholarship is named in honor of Coach E. M. "Nat" Watson Jr. for his prowess on the football field and his connection with youth and team sports.  This scholarship is generously  funded by Mr. and Mrs. William “Bill” Ford  and several former football players  of Shawnee High School under Coach Watson.  Coach Watson had a major impact on the life and success of Mr. Ford and in return this scholarship has been established to continue the legacy of making a difference in the lives of young athletes as Coach Watson did for so many.
         This scholarship is open to male and female athletes who attend and graduate from an Oklahoma Public school that will attend college full-time at an Oklahoma accredited institution. Preference will be given to African American students. The amount to be awarded will be contingent upon monies available each year and may vary. The selection process will be concluded by April 1st of each year and the recipients will be notified in writing. Recipients will be asked to attend the Oklahoma African American Educators Hall of Fame banquet in September .   Application due date has passed.  Look for the new application in 2020. 

Files coming soon.

About Us

African American Educators

Often unknown or recognized for their contributions to society.

Hall of Fame

Honoring ten significant administrators, teachers or support personnel each year since 2011.

Induction Ceremony

            Ninth Annual 



         Induction Ceremony.

Friday, September 27, 2019

                7:00 p.m. 

       Dinner & Ceremony

   Oklahoma History Center

Announcing the 2019 Inductees.

Make plans now to honor your favorite teacher or administrator, reserve your tables now.

  Send reservation with check or money order soon to Henrietta Hicks.  Seating limited.



To provide a means for the education community in Oklahoma to investigate the unique  and significant role of past and present-day African American educators.  

Indentify, Acknowledge, Celebrate

To identify, acknowledge, and celebrate careers of distinguished African American Educators.

Living Account, Seek and Serve

To document the journey of past and present educators and evolve as future generations contribute to their legacies. Also,  to seek and secure private gifts, grants, and public funding to support the mission.

President:  Dr. Donnie L. Nero Sr.

OAAE Hall of Fame, Inc.


The Oklahoma African American Educators Hall of Fame, Inc. provides a means for the educational community in Oklahoma to identify, investigate, acknowledge, and celebrate the unique history of African American education;  to honor the outstanding careers of African American educators; to secure private contributions and endowments; and to obtain public and private grants and funds to promote the goals and mission of the OAAE Hall of Fame, Inc. 



President:  Dr. Donnie L. Nero Sr.
Vice President:  Sharon Hill-Wooten

Secretary:  Shirley A. Nero
Treasurer:  Jimmie White 


Dr. Harold C. Aldridge Jr.—Tahlequah
Dr. Gloria Anderson –Oklahoma City
Mrs. Bobbie Allen Booker –Tulsa
Mrs. Eunice Edison - Lawton
Dr. Deena Fisher - Woodward
Dr. John Hargrave - Ada
Mr. Orlando E. Hazley - Tulsa
Mrs. Henrietta Hicks - Boley
Ms. Sharon Hill-Wooten - Idabel
Mr. Albert Johnson Sr. Lawton 

Dr. Wanda Pollard Johnson - Oklahoma City

Dr. Donnie L. Nero Sr. – Clearview  
Mr. Jimmie White – Warner   


Ms. Rita Cooksey - Okemah

Ms. Anita Arnold – Oklahoma City

Mr. Bruce Fisher - Oklahoma City

Ms. Claudett Goss - Oklahoma City

Mrs. Marilyn Jackson - Clearview
Mrs. Shirley Nero – Clearview

Mr. Harold Roberts - Oklahoma City



Membership BrochureDownload

OAAE Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony Programs

Programs include the inductee bios  and program for the Induction Ceremony.

2011 Induction ProgramDownload
2012 Induction ProgramDownload
2013 Induction ProgramDownload
2014 Induction ProgramDownload
2015 Induction ProgramDownload
2016 Induction ProgramDownload
2017 Induction ProgramDownload
2018 Induction ProgramDownload

Contact Us

Drop us a line!

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

Better yet, see us in person!

The OAAE Hall of Fame, Inc. is a non-profit organization dedicated to preserving the history of Oklahoma African American educators and promoting a philosophy of sharing their educational heritage.

  Site location:  302 West Main

Clearview, Oklahoma 74880

Exit 227 - Interstate I-40 - Six miles East of Okemah.


By Appointment only

         918 260-8132         


Photos from Photo Gallery

Purchase your Induction Ceremony Photos here

2011 - 2018